Skip to content

Leonidash has a Discord — news, map corrections, and launch night.

Join
Breakdown··7 min read

GTA 5 leaves PS Plus on 17 November, two days before GTA 6 arrives

Sony's November removals take Grand Theft Auto V and Red Dead Redemption 2 out of the PlayStation Plus Game Catalog on 17 November 2026, 48 hours before GTA 6 launches. Here is what the removal takes away, what it leaves alone, and why the obvious reading of the timing is weaker than it looks.

The Grand Theft Auto VI logo over a black background, with the 19 November 2026 date beneath it.
Image: Rockstar Games · GTA VI Trailer 1, 01:26

Grand Theft Auto V leaves the PlayStation Plus Game Catalog on 17 November 2026. Red Dead Redemption 2 goes with it on the same day. Grand Theft Auto VI launches on 19 November. Sony's November removals list, which went up on the storefront over the past two days, puts a 48-hour gap between the end of one and the start of the other.

That arithmetic has produced a headline: Sony is clearing the shelf so you buy the sequel. It is a tidy reading and it is not supported by much. What is worth having instead is the plain version — which copies this affects, which it does not, and the one date a subscriber needs in their calendar.

What has actually been confirmed

Status
GTA V leaves the Game Catalog on 17 November 2026Confirmed — Sony's own storefront listing
Red Dead Redemption 2 (the PS4 version) leaves the same dayConfirmed
Affects Extra and Premium subscribers onlyConfirmed
Anyone who bought either game keeps itConfirmed
A PS5 notification is going out to subscribers with the expiry dateReported, not announced
Why the date is the dateNot stated by anyone
Whether either game comes backNot stated
Whether GTA VI will ever be in a subscriptionNot announced

The two Rockstar games sit inside a larger batch. Counts in circulation run from seven to twelve, because several of the smaller titles are region-specific and the storefronts did not all list the same set on the same day. GTA V and Red Dead Redemption 2 are on every version of the list, and 17 November is the date on all of them.

What the removal takes, and what it does not

A Game Catalog removal is narrower than it sounds, and the distinction matters because the panic going round is mostly misplaced.

What stops working on 17 November: the ability to launch GTA V if the only claim you have on it is an Extra or Premium subscription. The installed copy stays on the drive and acquires a padlock. That also closes the door on GTA Online, which is played through GTA V — a subscriber using the catalogue copy loses the route in, not just the story mode.

What is untouched: every purchased copy, on either generation. If you bought GTA V at any point in the last thirteen years, nothing about this applies to you. Save data is not deleted by a removal either; it stays in local storage, and it is there again if you buy the game or if the catalogue entry returns. A GTA Online character is held against your Rockstar Games account rather than against the licence you used to get in, which is why transfers between platforms were ever possible, so losing catalogue access is not losing a character.

The practical consequence is small and specific: if you were planning a farewell Los Santos run on a subscription, 17 November is the deadline, and it is a Tuesday.

Xbox closed the same door in April

The half of this story that has gone unmentioned is that the other console already did it. GTA V left Xbox Game Pass on 15 April 2026, both the Enhanced and the Legacy versions, at the end of its longest stint in the service. No return has been announced.

So from 17 November, there is no subscription on either console that includes Grand Theft Auto V. That is the first time that has been true in several years, and it arrives in the same week as the sequel. Whether those two facts are related is exactly the question nobody has answered.

Nobody has said why, and the dull explanation fits

Two readings are available.

The circulating one is deliberate: a publisher pulls the old game to remove the free alternative to the new one. It is plausible, and the reported PS5 notification — which, per Push Square, offers the subscriber a choice between playing GTA V and pre-ordering GTA VI — reads exactly like that if you want it to.

The dull one is that catalogue licences are fixed-term contracts that expire on their own schedule, and these two expire in November. GTA V has been in and out of the PS Plus catalogue repeatedly since December 2023; Red Dead Redemption 2 is on at least its third stint. Both have left before, with no sequel in sight, on exactly this kind of mid-month date. Sony batches its removals at one or two points in the month, and 17 November is where the batch fell.

Neither Sony, Rockstar nor Take-Two has said which it is. This site will not pretend to know. What can be said is that the deliberate reading requires the coincidence to be a plan, while the dull reading requires nothing at all — and that a notification offering to sell you the sequel is a storefront doing its ordinary job with the inventory it has.

The five days when both things are true

There is a genuine scheduling collision here for anyone who intends to do both.

Preload for GTA VI opens on 12 November, at local midnight, for digital pre-orders and redeemed codes. GTA V stays playable until the 17th. Those windows overlap by five days — and the overlap is where the practical problem is, because Rockstar still has not published an install size for VI. A console pulling down a very large download in the background is a console doing less well at whatever else it is running, and the drive has to hold both games at once if you want the old one available until its last day. What is known and not known about the space required has not moved: the circulating figures are estimates, and no storefront has posted a number.

If the drive is tight, the order is: preload from the 12th, finish with GTA V by the 17th, delete it, and keep the space.

Will GTA 6 be in a subscription?

It is the obvious follow-up question and the answer is short. Nothing has been announced — not for PlayStation Plus, not for Game Pass, not at launch and not later.

The precedent cuts against it. No mainline Grand Theft Auto has ever launched into a subscription service; GTA V reached Game Pass and PS Plus years after release, repeatedly, and left again each time. The only subscription-adjacent route anyone has argued for on VI is cloud streaming on Xbox, and the claim that a cloud version is coming was denied by the person it was attributed to.

What does continue past 19 November is GTA Online, which Take-Two has confirmed keeps running with its usual cadence. What has and has not been said about multiplayer is unchanged by anything in this story.

What is not confirmed

  • The reason for the date. No statement from Sony, Rockstar or Take-Two exists. Every explanation in circulation, including both of the ones above, is inference.
  • Whether either game returns to the catalogue. Both have returned before. Nobody has said they will again.
  • The full November removals list. The regional variation is real and the published counts disagree. Only the two Rockstar entries are carried here, because they are the two every list agrees on.
  • The exact wording and reach of the PS5 notification. It is reported by outlets reading subscribers' screens, not published by Sony as a statement.
  • Anything about GTA VI's own availability beyond purchase. It is a game you buy, on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S, on 19 November. No other route has been announced.

A note on sources. Nothing in this article was read first-hand: the PlayStation Store, rockstargames.com and the games outlets this site normally reads are all refused by the network this page is written on, so the storefront listing and the PS5 notification are relayed rather than seen. The date, the tiers and the two Rockstar titles are carried because Push Square, PlayStation LifeStyle, PlayStation Universe, GameSpot and Insider Gaming report them concordantly. The batch size is given as a range for the same reason the counts disagree. The April Game Pass removal is reported by several outlets and was not verified against Microsoft's own listing.

One date is a contract ending. The other is a game coming out. They are two days apart, and that is all anyone can currently say about the relationship between them.