Skip to content

Leonidash has a Discord — news, map corrections, and launch night.

Join
Breakdown··10 min read

GTA 6 is 212 GB, and digital preload now opens on 10 November

Rockstar has published a preload file size of up to 212 GB and moved digital preload forward two days to 10 November — midnight local time on PS5, a single global 12am GMT on Xbox. What the number measures, what the post still does not say, and why the launch unlock time is no closer.

A pickup towing a trailer through flooded wetlands, chased by a police SUV and a helicopter, with an airboat and alligators in the water behind.
Image: Rockstar Games

Rockstar published a Newswire post today giving Grand Theft Auto VI's preload file size and moving digital preload forward by two days. The file will require up to 212 GB depending on your device, and preload for digital pre-orders now opens on Tuesday 10 November rather than the 12th.

That is the first install figure Rockstar has published for GTA VI, and it arrives two days after this site wrote that 12 November was the date a real number would finally become unavoidable. It came early instead, from Rockstar directly, and it is within two gigabytes of the datamined figure that has been circulating since 27 October.

The post also does something less widely noticed: it gives two different preload times for the two consoles, and it says nothing at all about what time the game unlocks on 19 November.

What Rockstar has now confirmed

Status
Preload file is up to 212 GB, depending on deviceConfirmed, Newswire, 3 November
Digital preload opens 10 November, PS5, midnight local timeConfirmed
Digital preload opens 10 November, Xbox Series X|S, 12am GMT worldwideConfirmed
Code-in-box copies at retailers from 12 NovemberConfirmed
Launch, 19 NovemberConfirmed, unchanged
Unlock time on 19 NovemberStill not announced
A day-one patch, and whether the preload contains itStill not announced
PS5 system software minimumStill not announced
Anything about a PC versionNothing

The date change is the part that affects what you do this week. The deadline for having the space free is now the 10th, not the 12th and certainly not the 19th. A preload that finds the drive full does not shrink to fit; it fails and waits.

The two consoles do not open at the same moment

This is the detail buried under the file size, and it reverses depending on where you live.

On PS5, preload opens at midnight local time, rolling around the world time zone by time zone — Auckland first, then Asia, then Europe, then the Americas. On Xbox Series X|S it opens at a single global instant, 12am GMT on 10 November, which is the same clock moment everywhere.

The consequence is that the two platforms swap places on the way round:

Where you arePS5 preload opensXbox preload opens
London00:00, 10 Nov00:00, 10 Nov
Paris, Berlin00:00, 10 Nov01:00, 10 Nov
Delhi00:00, 10 Nov05:30, 10 Nov
Tokyo00:00, 10 Nov09:00, 10 Nov
New York00:00, 10 Nov19:00, 9 Nov
Los Angeles00:00, 10 Nov16:00, 9 Nov

West of Greenwich, Xbox owners start downloading before PS5 owners in the same city — the evening before. East of it, PS5 goes first and the gap widens the further east you are, reaching nine hours in Japan. Nobody is disadvantaged by much, since there are nine days either way, but the Xbox figure quoted everywhere as "4pm PT / 7pm ET on 9 November" is not an error in the reporting: it is what a global GMT unlock looks like from North America.

Those conversions are arithmetic from Rockstar's two stated times, not a second announcement.

What "up to 212 GB" does and does not say

Four words in Rockstar's sentence are doing a lot of work, and they are the reason this is not quite the single clean number the headlines have made of it.

  • "Up to" makes 212 GB a ceiling, not a measurement. Rockstar has given the largest figure, not the figure for any particular machine.
  • "Depending on your device" is Rockstar saying outright that it differs between platforms and models. PS5 and Xbox Series X|S package and compress differently, and a cross-platform release routinely carries two different sizes. The 212 GB is whichever of them is bigger.
  • "The pre-load file" describes what the console downloads before launch. It is not stated to be the installed footprint, and it is not stated to include a launch patch. Decompression can push an install above its download; a patch delivered separately on the 19th adds to it again.
  • There is no separate figure for the Ultimate Edition, and none for either console individually.

So the honest reading is: the thing you download between the 10th and the 19th will be at most 212 GB, and what it occupies afterwards is still unpublished.

The datamine was 2 GB out, and that settles less than it looks

Since 27 October the circulating number has been 210 GB, from an X account that reads PlayStation Store backend entries before they reach the public page. This site declined to treat it as confirmed and said the honest position was that a credible figure existed, had not been confirmed, and was probably close.

It was close: 210 against 212, with the official number covering both platforms and the datamined one covering the PS5 Standard Edition only. The two are not necessarily even in conflict — a 210 GB PlayStation package under a 212 GB cross-platform ceiling is exactly what you would expect if the Xbox build is the larger one.

That is a point about this account's accuracy, not about its status. The same account is the only source for the claim that GTA VI requires PS5 system software 14.22.00.00, and today's post is a useful test of it: a Newswire article specifically about getting the download onto your console nine days early would be the natural place to tell people which firmware they need. Rockstar did not mention system software at all. That does not disprove the requirement — a store listing can carry a field Rockstar never writes a sentence about — but anyone who expected this post to confirm it has their answer.

What it does not answer: the unlock time

Rockstar gave preload times precise to the minute for two platforms, and then said nothing about what time GTA VI becomes playable on 19 November. That question has been open since August and it is still open tonight.

Several outlets have published per-region launch tables in the last few hours, some under headlines using the word "confirmed". Those tables are derived from store listings and from how previous Rockstar launches behaved, not from today's post. Midnight local time remains the likeliest answer — it is how the pre-order rollout worked in June, and it is what the store pages imply — but likeliest is not announced, and a site that calls it confirmed today is reporting its own inference.

The firmer inference available is about Rockstar's habits rather than the clock: this was the technical pre-launch Newswire post, it came nine days before release, and it covered preload and size while leaving unlock alone. If a separate unlock-time post is coming, the window for it is now narrow.

What this changes for your storage plan

Less than the number suggests, and the date change matters more.

Keep clearing 250 GB. The planning figure in the storage guide was never a guess at the install size alone; it was the install plus the headroom a console needs to unpack and patch. Red Dead Redemption 2 asked for its install and a further 50 GB of working space during installation, and that second number is the one everyone forgets. A 212 GB download with an unpublished installed footprint and an unannounced launch patch is an argument for 250 GB, not against it.

The console this still hurts is the white Series S. It holds 364 GB usable. Even taking 212 GB as a ceiling, that is well over half the drive before a patch, and its owners are choosing between an expansion card and a console that holds GTA VI and little else. A Series X has about 802 GB and a launch PS5 about 667 GB; for those, this is an evening of deleting things — one that now has to happen by Monday night.

And every copy needs the space, including the boxed one. The box contains a download code rather than a disc, which is why the boxed version is still tied to the 12th: that is when the boxes reach retailers, so a code redeemed that day preloads from that day. Boxed buyers lost nothing in today's change; digital buyers gained two days.

The poster, briefly

The same post adds a small thing that has been misreported in both directions. On launch day, Rockstar will put a printable cover-art poster and map of Leonida on its own website as a free download. A double-sided physical version follows shortly after launch through the Rockstar Store, at $0.99 on its own or free with any purchase there.

It is not in the box. The code-in-box edition contains the code and the Vintage Vice City Pack; the fold-out map that used to come with a Rockstar game is now a separate dollar. The map inside the $399.99 Goodtime State collection is a different item again.

If you want to know what that printed map is likely to show before it exists, the map this site has assembled out of trailers and screenshots is the current state of public knowledge, and the Grassrivers — the wetlands in the picture above — is the part of it that has changed most as new footage has arrived.

What is still not confirmed

ClaimStatus
The preload file is up to 212 GBConfirmed by Rockstar, 3 November
GTA VI occupies 212 GB once installedNot stated. Rockstar described the preload file, not the installed size
PS5 and Xbox Series X|S are the same sizeNo. "Depending on your device" says they are not; no per-platform figure has been published
The Ultimate Edition is the same sizeUnknown. No separate figure
The preload includes the launch patchUnknown, and launch patches are not normally included in a preload
Digital preload opens 10 NovemberConfirmed
PS5 preload is midnight local, Xbox is 12am GMT worldwideConfirmed
The per-city times in the table aboveArithmetic from those two stated times, not a separate announcement
Boxed copies at retailers from 12 NovemberConfirmed, unchanged
GTA VI unlocks at midnight local on 19 NovemberNot announced. Widely expected, consistent with the store listings and with June's pre-order rollout, and not in today's post
The 210 GB datamine was correctClose, and superseded. Rockstar's own ceiling is 212 GB across both platforms
GTA VI requires PS5 firmware 14.22.00.00Still unconfirmed. Today's post names no system software requirement
A printable poster and Leonida map, free on launch dayConfirmed
The poster is included with the boxed copyNo. It is a separate $0.99 item from the Rockstar Store
A PC versionNothing announced

A note on sourcing

Rockstar's site and most of the games press are unreachable from where this was written — the domains do not resolve — so the Newswire post was not read first-hand. Its wording, the two preload times, the "up to 212 GB depending on your device" phrasing, the retail date and the poster details are taken from reporting of it.

The relays here are the ones this site normally cites: VGC, GamesRadar, Kotaku, Game Informer and TechRadar, all publishing on 3 November and all in agreement on the date, the two times and the figure. Where they disagree is on what the post implies about the unlock time, and that disagreement is printed above rather than resolved: Kotaku and GameSpot published regional launch tables, and nothing in the relayed wording of the post supports treating those as Rockstar's.